Tag Archives: Spirituality


Desatita is a Sanskrit word that means “beyond space,” with desa meaning “space” and tita meaning “no.” However, the meaning in Sanskrit is deeper than simply “no space” or “beyond space.” More accurately, it means “limitless beyond space.”

Commonly used to describe philosophical concepts considered to be universal truths or our state of being, desatita is a way to describe the unbounded consciousness or the true Self. For example, our unbounded consciousness, when realized, is not confined by space.


Pancha is a Sanskrit word that means “five.” In the context of Hinduism and yogic philosophy, the number five has significance in many key concepts and finds its way into religious symbolism as a sacred number. For example, the god, Shiva, is portrayed with five faces (panchamukha), each facing a different direction.

The list of pancha concepts is long, but one of the foundational ones is that of the five great elements, or pancha mahabhuta: akasha (ether), vayu (air), tejas (fire), jala (water) and prithvi (earth). These elements are believed to exist in everything in the universe. Ayurveda, the ancient medical system from India, manipulates and balances the elements to maintain health and cure disease.

~Taught Delusions~

From an early age, we were taught through so many channels: parents, romance films, society, and also the church that we would be here to find a partner for life, to have children, and to live happily ever after. This is such a firmly anchored pattern in many people that they are constantly desperate in search of the One, which makes them forget something crucial: namely to find themselves first.

~Para Nada~

In Hinduism and yogic philosophy, para nada is the highest of the four levels of sound in the universe. The term comes from the Sanskrit, para, meaning “highest,” “ultimate” or “supreme”; and nada, meaning “sound” or “tone.”

Para nada is transcendental sound that is beyond hearing or the mind’s understanding and is infinite. Associated with the cosmic vibration of Om, para nada is heard only when the yogi is in a state of higher consciousness, just before experiencing samadhi, the final limb of yoga.

While the Upanishads say that para nada is manifested in Om, it is a silent Om. According to some Hindu texts, para nada has no vibration, movement or frequency but is a sound only enlightened yogis can hear. It is sound at its maximum pitch.

The other three levels of nada are:

Vaikhari ~ This is sound that is audible to the human ear.
Madhyama ~ This sound is heard in the mind.
Pashyanti ~ This is a sound that is perceived visually.

Believing that the whole universe is composed of sound vibrations, Nada yoga focuses on transformation from within through sound. The goal is to hear the ultimate sound, or para nada.


Dravya is a Sanskrit word that means “substances” or “entities.” It is used in Indian and yogic philosophy to describe the categories of being that comprise the substance of existence. In Jainism, dravya is made up of five or six categories of being (it varies by sect), while the Vaisheshika school of Hindu philosophy names nine substances.

In the traditional Indian medicinal practice known as Ayurveda, dravya can be a drug or other substance used to treat a disease or ailment or to promote health. The dravya has properties (guna) and action (karma). Dravya is, therefore, any mixture or substance applied externally or taken internally to treat disease, preserve health or ease pain.

According to the Jains, dravya is composed of five eternal categories of being, known as astikayas. They are:

Dharma ~ a moral virtue and that which allows beings to move
Adharma ~ the medium of rest and that which allows beings to stop moving
Akasha ~ the space in which all exists.
Pudgala ~ matter
Jiva ~ the soul
Kala, or time, was added as a sixth category of dravya by the Digambara sect.

According to Vaisheshika, dravya refers to nine substances. Five of the dravya substances are physical elements: prthivi (earth), ap (water), tejas (fire), vayu (air) and akasha (ether). The remaining four substances that comprise dravya are kala (time), dik (space), Atman (Soul or universal Self) and manas (mind or internal organ).