Tag Archives: enlightenment

~Annamaya Kosha~

The annamaya kosha is one of the five layers of awareness that veil the Atman, or true Self. Discovering each layer is believed to bring the individual closer to oneness with the universe and the true Self. The annamaya kosha is the outermost kosha, or layer, that feeds the physical body and sustains the other koshas.

The practice of yoga takes the individual deeper into the self through the koshas that make up one’s being, thereby bringing one closer to the true Self. In yoga, asanas can affect the annamaya kosha by nurturing the body.


Alabdha-bhumikatva is one of the nine antaraya, or obstacles to spiritual growth, according to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, and is the inability to attain a particular stage or state on the path to enlightenment. From Sanskrit, alabdha means “unobtained”; bhum means “earth,” suggesting groundedness and stability; and katva means “bed,” suggesting a sense of comfort and stability.

The reasons for alabdha-bhumikatva can be wide-ranging, but inner issues such as self-doubt, procrastination and lack of motivation are most common.

Philosophical Questions {3} ~ Does The Study Of Philosophy Ever Lead To Answers Or Simply More Questions?

I believe beyond concepts, words, questions and answers is the ultimate reality, however questions and answers can point the way to the ultimate reality. Philosophy leads to more questions in an infinite loop..

Feel free to leave your thoughts below..

Symbols {35} ~ Sri Yantra

The Sri Yantra is the most revered of all yantras, or mystical diagrams. It consists of nine interlocking triangles surrounded by two circles of lotus petals. In the middle is a dot, or bindu, which symbolizes the place from which all creation emerges. Its four upright triangles represent male energy, or Shiva, while the five downward facing triangles represent female energy, Shakti. Together, they represent all of the cosmos and the union of its forces.

The Sri Yantra is said to contain the path to enlightenment. Its geometry is so profound, that meditating on its patterns is said to inspire divine wisdom and a sense of oneness. For this reason, the Sri Yantra is considered a powerful tool for spiritual growth.


Tathata is a word in Sanskrit and Pali that is mainly used in Mahayana Buddhism to refer to the true nature of reality. It also has a significance in Chan Buddhism. Tathata is often translated as “suchness” or “thusness,” and it is widely accepted that the true nature of reality is inexpressible in language because it is beyond both description and conceptualization. It can be used at the end of a discussion of a particular teaching to indicate that the teaching is ineffable.

Tathata only ever refers to what is right now, as it means the “suchness” of the moment.

Symbols {30} ~ 8 Auspicious Symbols In Tibetan Buddhism

In Tibetan Buddhism, these symbols are said to be the luckiest and most sacred of all. Frequently seen in combination with one another, each represents a different component of Buddhist philosophy.

The Parasol: Representing protection and shelter, the Parasol shows how Buddha’s teachings will shield us from the “heat” of forces like greed and lust.

The Golden Fish: A symbol of joy and liberation, the Fish represent freedom from samsara, or the cycle of life, death, and rebirth.

The Conch Shell: Used to call individuals to prayer, the Conch’s resounding trumpet represents the influence of dharma and its ability to awaken us from ignorance.

The Lotus: A symbol of enlightenment, the Lotus mirrors human suffering. Growing through muck in order to blossom, the Lotus shows that we too may blossom through Buddha’s wisdom.

The Urn: A symbol of abundance, the Urn is evocative of Buddha’s spiritual wealth, demonstrating that there is no end to his knowledge and wisdom.

The Infinite Knot: With no beginning or end, the Infinite Knot reflects Buddha’s infinite compassion as well as the interconnectedness of all living things.

The Banner: Also known as the Flag, the Banner represents victory over ignorance and the obstacles that block the path to enlightenment.

The Wheel: The Wheel of Law, or Dharmachakra, is a summation of Buddha’s teachings. The eight spokes are Buddha’s Eightfold Path, while the inner hub is the discipline required to follow it.