Tag Archives: dreaming

Chakras {2} ~ Muladhara, Root Chakra

The Muladhara, or root chakra, represents our foundation. On the human body, it sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it’s blocked, we feel threatened, as if we’re standing on unstable ground.

Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area
What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
Mantra: “I can’t grow from an unsteady foundation.”
Color: Red
Element: Earth
Stone: Hematite
Yoga pose: Warrior I
When it develops: 1-7 years old

~Anuttara Puja~

Anuttara puja is a Sanskrit term that translates as “supreme worship.” It represents the highest form of worship or homage to the gods in Indian religions or the Buddha in Buddhism.

More specifically, anuttara puja is a method of devotion developed by the seventh-century Indian master, Shantideva. It consists of several spiritual exercises and is typically practiced in the Buddhist tradition. The goal is bodhicitta, a mind dedicated to others and to attaining enlightenment. It is similar to the ultimate goal of yoga of enlightenment and unification with the yogi’s highest nature.


Samprajnata is a type of of samadhi (spiritual ecstasy), which is the eventual aim of meditation.

It is a limited form of self-awareness that is described as a type of conscious meditation or cognition. In this state, the yogi is able to recognize the content of his/her own mind and then consciously release it. This leads to absolute clarity and self-awareness.


Renunciation is the act of renouncing or rejecting something. In the context of yoga and Indian philosophy, renunciation is the giving up of worldly attachments in order to achieve spiritual enlightenment or liberation from the recurring cycle of life, death and rebirth.

In Hinduism, the act of renunciation is known by the Sanskrit term, sannyasa. In Buddhism, it is usually known by the Pali term, nekkhamma. In the Hindu text, the Bhagavad Gita, Krishna explains that both the yoga of action and the yoga of renunciation are paths to liberation.