Tag Archives: Christianity

Symbols {74} ~ Holy Grail

The Holy Grail is one of the most prominent and enduring symbols of Christianity. It is believed to be the chalice or cup that was used by Jesus Christ at the Last Supper that he had before the crucifixion with his disciples. It is also supposed to have been used at the crucifixion by Joseph of Arimathea to catch Jesus’ blood. Legend has it that Joseph brought the sacred cup to Britain and established a secret line of guardians who have kept it safe ever since. Having been touched by Christ, the chalice was believed to hold miraculous powers and so, was highly sought-after.

The Holy Grail has captured the imagination of people ever since the Grail legends found a literary expression around the twelfth century. It forms an important part of Arthurian literature and has been the principal object of a search by the knights at the court of King Arthur. In the early literature, the Grail was depicted as a plate, serving a dish, stone, or even something spiritual or ethereal. It was shown to be a cup in Joseph d’Arimathie that was written by Robert de Boron in 1205.

As a Christian symbol, the Holy Grail is more than a sacred object. It signifies the forgiveness of sin and attainment of immortality. At the Holy Communion services, the cup represents the body or essence of Jesus and the wine in it symbolizes the blood that he shed while making the supreme sacrifice for the sake of humanity.

Religion {16} ~ Christianity

Christianity is the most popular religion in the world with over 2 billion adherents.

~Christians believe that Jesus was the Messiah promised in the Old Testament.
~Christians believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.
~Christians believe that God sent his Son to earth to save humanity from the consequences of its sins.
~One of the most important concepts in Christianity is that of Jesus giving his life on the Cross (the Crucifixion) and rising from the dead on the third day (the Resurrection).
~Christians believe that there is only one God, but that there are three elements to this one God:
~God the Father
~God the Son
~The Holy Spirit
~Christians worship in churches.
~Their spiritual leaders are called priests or ministers.
~The Christian holy book is the Bible, and consists of the Old and New Testaments.
~Christian holy days such as Easter and Christmas are important milestones in the Western secular calendar

Symbols {60} ~ Shield Of Trinity

Shield of Trinity symbol, also known as the Scutum Fidei, is a Christian symbol depicting the concept of the Holy Trinity. This diagrammatic representation has been found to have been in use as long back as the twelfth century for helping proclaim the fundamental Christian doctrine that the Almighty God is manifest in 3 distinct ways – as the Father, the Son (Jesus) & the Holy Spirit.

The classical Shield of the Trinity emblem is shaped as a downward pointing triangle that is formed by three same length bars and has a circle at each vertex. There is a fourth circle in the center of this triangle and it is joined by equal length bars to the outer circles. The three circles on the outside have one Latin word written in each – Pater (Father), Filius (Son) and Spus Scus (Holy Spirit) and the circle in the middle carries Deus (God). The inner connecting lines have Est (is) written in them, while the outer ones have Non-Est (is not). The links in the diagram are non-directional and the words may be read from any beginning point and in any direction. This beautiful staging of words and formation of sentences emphasizes the undivided, unending nature and eternity of the Holy Trinity.

There are many versions of the Shield of the Trinity. Some of these variations include having the triangle pointing upwards, putting curved bars in place of straight bars, putting triangles in place of circles, or having a star in the middle instead of triangle or circle.

Symbols {55} ~ Jerusalem Cross

The Jerusalem Cross is a major symbol used in Christianity, representing Christ’s command to spread the Gospel around the world beginning in Jerusalem. The symbol is basically composed of 5 crosses; 1 large central cross with 4 smaller crosses in each quadrant. It is also often referred to as the Crusader’s Cross and less frequently as the Cantonese Cross.

The Crusaders used the Jerusalem Cross as an emblem; bearing the symbol on the papal banner given to them by Pope Urban II. It was adopted by Godfrey de Bouillon as his personal coat of arms. He was one of the leaders of the Crusades and became the first ruler of Jerusalem (he refused the title of “king”) after successfully driving out the Moslems during the First Crusade in 1099.

Popular interpretations of the Jerusalem Cross:
~The central cross stands for Christ and the four smaller crosses stand for the 4 evangelists John, Luke, Mark, and Matthew.
~The large cross represents Christ as the strength at the center of Christianity and the smaller crosses as the 4 corners of the earth to which the faith spread.
~The crosses represent the wounds that Christ suffered when He was crucified; the central cross for the wound on His side, and the 4 smaller crosses for the wounds on His hands and feet.
~The 5 crosses represent the five nations that figured in The Crusades: Great Britain, France, Spain, Germany, and Italy.

Symbols {40} ~ Snake

The snake is one of the most established spiritual symbols known, worshipped in some religions and detested in others. In Christianity the snake was held responsible for luring Eve to eat the forbidden fruit – which changed the entire course of mankind. While in Eastern cultures, the snake is considered to be a symbol of regeneration, death and rebirth.


The word astrotheology (or astro-theology) comes from the Greek word astron, which means “star,” and the word theology, which means “the study of God.” Since ancient times, man has worshiped deities associated with the heavenly bodies—the stars, moon, and sun (Zephaniah 1:5)—and this practice is called “astrolatry.” The term astrotheology is more specifically applied to a religious system based on the observation of the heavens. Astrolatry is usually polytheistic, while astrotheology allows for monotheism. In fact, some people attempt to combine astrotheology with Christianity.